1. Home
  2. Research
  3. Biology Program
Biology Program
The Biology Program is designed to increase the available knowledge of the life-history and behavior of tunas, tuna like-species, and other associated species in the EPO. Data for these types of research are obtained from sampling catches at ports of landing, analyses of information collected from vessel logbooks and by on-board observers, studies conducted at sea on research and fishing vessels, and laboratory experiments.

The Program encompasses two Groups which conduct several important research activities: Early Life-History and Life-History and Behavior.

The scientific knowledge produced by the Biology Program —along with fishery-dependent data sources (e.g. catch, effort and composition data) - is incorporated into population dynamics models for assessing the effects of fishing and natural factors on the abundance and sustainability of stocks (see activities of Stock Assessment Program, Category D). It is also used to parameterize the ecosystem models conducted under the research activities of the Ecosystem and Bycatch Program.
Groups
Early-life History Group

Early-life History Group

Read more
Life History and Behavior Group

Life History and Behavior Group

Read more
Organigram
  • Scientific research
     
  • Stock assessment
    Details
  • Ecosystem & Bycatch
     Details
  • Biology
     
  • Data Collection & Database
    Details
    • Database
       
    • Observer program
       
    • IT support
       
Staff

Dan W. Fuller

Head of Life History and Behavior Group
dfuller@iattc.org

Dan Margulies

Head of Early Life History group
dmargulies@iattc.org

Yole Buchalla

Early Life History Scientist
ybuchalla@iattc.org

Mitchell Lovell

Research Biologist
mlovell@iattc.org

Michael Opiekun

Tuna Tagging Program Science Technician (external)
mopiekun@iattc.org

Vernon Scholey

Achotines Laboratory Director
vscholey@iattc.org

Susana Cusatti

Supervisory biologist
scusatti@iattc.org